Minced beef and onion bake

IMG_20170907_200255_647

Deciding what to make  for lunch today I knew that I had some leftover minced beef that needed using up so I decided to experiment and make up a couple of minced beef and onion bakes for my Mum and myself with the Weight Watchers Wraps.


Minced beef and onion bake

ingredients: 2 Servings

  • 2 weight watchers wraps
  • 2 tsp of Bisto original gravy granules (2syns)
  • 250g of 5% minced beef
  • A large dash of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 onion chopped finely
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • Fry Light

Syns: 1 Syn per bake when using the wrap as your Healthy Extra B


What did I do and how?

  • Finely chop up the onion
  • Spray a frying pan with Fry Light and brown off the minced
  • Add the chopped onion into the frying pan
  •  In a small bowl add two tsp of Bisto gravy granules and add a little boiling water to make enough gravy to cover the mince and make it slightly wet.
  • Add the gravy into the frying pan ensuring the mince and onions are coated
  • Add a dash of Worcestershire sauce and mix in
  • Place two Weight Watchers wraps onto a baking tray and spoon the minced beef and onion between the two wraps onto one half of the wrap ensuring you leave enough room around the edge to be able to crimp and seal the bake.
  • Fold the wrap over, encasing the ingredients inside
  • Crimp the edges of the wrap with a fork
  • Seal the wrap by brushing over the top with a beaten egg.
  • Pop the bake into the center of the oven for 20 minutes on 180
  • Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly then serve

Afterthoughts:

I was really pleased with the outcome of these, I wasn’t too sure how much gravy I would need, I didnt want the mince to be too wet for it to cause the wrap to go soggy but I also didnt want the filling to be too dry, thankfully these worked out just perfect but I guess people can adjust depending on their own taste.

Leave a comment