Oat Waffles

IMG_20180308_223004_873

Oat Waffles

The other week a member in group had been raving about how she had made these oat waffles using porridge oats and how nice they were so of course it got me intrigued and  I soon found myself treating myself to a couple of silicone waffle moulds off of Amazon  so that I could have a go at making them myself. After a couple of attempts and trying to get the consistency just perfect these oat waffles are now my absolute favorite breakfast go to, every morning I find myself making them and serving them up with fresh fruit.


Oat Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 40g porridge oats (Hex B)
  • 1 Egg
  • 3 heaped tbsp of toffee Muller light

What did I do and how?

Placing the oats into a bowl and using a hand blender I blitz the oats into a flour like consistency. –  (Now there are some who may say that this a tweak.. Our group consultant has told us that Slimming world have said this is ok as blitzing the oats doesn’t alter the nutritional value and that because you weigh the oats you are not eating more than you usually would, Ultimately its up to each individual but Im happy to do this.)

Once blitzed add the egg and 3 heaped tbsp of the Muller light and mix the ingredients together.

PhotoGrid_1520547391298

Once mixed place the mixture into a silicone waffle mould like above and placed it onto a baking tray.

Place the baking tray into the oven and cook for 20 minutes on 200 degrees. After the 20 minutes carefully removed each waffle from the mould and place onto the baking tray. Return to the oven for a further 10 minutes.

Serve with fresh fruit and a tsp of sweet freedom choc shot or fruity syrup


Afterthoughts:

I love these waffles and I just cant get enough of them each morning.

Now I will admit that Ive altered the recipe we were given in group slightly as upon my first attempt of making these I found using 2 eggs and and an entire muller light made the consistency of the waffles way too soft and they stuck to the silicone mould, making it difficult to remove them. The amount of ingredients I use and the timings I give create a nice firm waffle with a slight crispness to the outside.

Now although I list the toffee muller light you could use any flavor you like. Ive tried using the lemon and coconut greek style muller yogurts as well as the chocolate orange and they all tasted really good.

PhotoGrid_1520548371302Chocolate Orange Waffle with a drizzle of Choc shot spiced orange

IMG_20180222_105402_765Toffee waffle with fresh fruit and a drizzle of  Sweet Freedom Fruity Syrup

PhotoGrid_1520548332598Toffee waffle with strawberries, bananas and a drizzle of Sweet Freedom Choc Shot

Leave a comment