Dirty Cajun Rice

IMG_20180501_214017_989

Since starting back on Slimming World I have discovered several websites that are now my go to sites when I need some inspiration for meal ideas, these include a Pinch of Nom,

Two Chubby cubs, FatGirlSkinny and Slimming World Survival (If you havent checked them out you really must!)

Now this evening I found myself searching through these websites for a recipe for dinner tonight, one that would just jump out at me, I was looking for something simple, tasty and filling and that is when I came across Dirty Rice, an American cuisine made from rice, pork mice, vegetables and spices on the Pinch of Nom website and decided to give making it a go, although I did slightly adapt it a little to my own personal taste.


Ingredients: (Serves 4)

  • 200g of long grain rice
  • 400g of 5% pork mince
  • 4 bacon medallions cut up
  • ½ a red pepper chopped up
  • ½ a orange pepper chopped up
  • 1 onion copped up
  • 1 chicken stock cube
  • 5 mushrooms sliced
  • 3 spring onions chopped up
  • 125 mls of boiling water
  • 1tbsp of cajun seasoning
  • A generous dash of Worcestershire sauce
  • Fry Light

Syns: Syn Free


What did I do and how?

  • Cook the rice according to the packet instructions, once cooked drain the rice and set aside and allow it to cool.
  • Spray a large frying pan with fry light adding in the pork mince, bacon and onion cooking them until browned off
  • Into a jug pour 125ml of boiling water and add the stock cube allowing it to disolve
  • Into the frying pan add the Worcestershire Sauce and the Cajun seasoning
  • Into the frying pan add the stock and allow to cook for a minute or two
  • Add into the frying pan the Peppers, spring onions and mushrooms allowing them to soften
  • Add in the cooked rice and mix all of the ingredients together stiring. The rice should start to turn a dark golden colour
  • Ensure all liquid has been absorbed then serve

Afterthoughts
I can honestly say that I thoroughly enjoyed this dish, it was so filling and full of flavor. and will certainly be making this again soon. Now I used pork mince this time around but if you dont have or cannot get hold of 5% pork mince then I imagine you could swap it out for 5% beef mince and it will taste just as good.
You can find the original recipe from a Pinch of Nom here
*Please note that the listed syn values and Healthy Extra allowances are correct at time of publish and could be subject to change*

Leave a comment