Chicken Fajita Bake

So this evening I really had a fancy for Chicken Fajitas, however when it came to getting all of the ingredients ready to make them I realised that I had run out of the Weight Watcher wraps which I would usually use (oh no!). Now usually I would have sulked like a big baby whilst trying to figure out what esle to have but seeing as I had all of the other ingredients I decided to see if I could work with those and throw together another dish.

Now one thing I do have a lot of in the cupboard is dried pasta so I decided I would attempt to make a Chicken Fajita pasta bake. I mean pasta bakes always go down well and I had a feeling that this could work well too…


Ingredients (2 servings/2 people)

  • 2 chicken breasts cut into pieces
  • 1 Small Red sweet pepper de seeded and siced.
  • 1 Small Yellow sweet pepper de seeded and sliced.
  • 1 Small Orange red pepper de seeded and sliced.
  • 1/2 an onion sliced.
  • Fry Lite
  • 1 tsp of smoked parrika
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/2 tsp of ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp of ground corriander
  • 1 crushed garlic clove
  • 250g of Passatta
  • 1 tbsp of tomato puree
  • 80g of reduced fat chedar grated
  • 200g of pasta

Syns: Syn free when using the reduced fat chedar as part of your healthy extra A allowance .


What did I do and how?

  • Fill a large saucepan with water, place onto the hob and bring to the boil. Add in the 200g of pasta following the packs cooking instructions.
  • Spray a large frying pan with frylight and place over a medium heat. Add the chicken and start to cook.
  • After 5minutes add into the frying pan the peppers, onions and crushed garlic.
  • To make the fajitas seasoning measure and add the herbs and spices and mix into a small bowl and mix well.
  • Sprinkle this fajitas seasoning over the chicken and peppers to coat.
  • Strain the cooked pasta and add into the front pan.
  • Add the Passatta and tomato puree into the frying pan.
  • Mix together all of the ingredients ensuring the pasta, chicken, peppers and onions are covered in the passatta.
  • Spoon the contents of the frying pan between two oven proof dishes.
  • Sprinkle the grated reduce fat chedar on top and place into the centre of the oven on 190° for 25minutes.
  • Serve and Enjoy!

Afterthoughts:

Well what can I say, this dish turned out absolutely amazingly. I’ve always enjoyed a good pasta bake as they are so quick and easy to throw together and this was no exception. The fajitas seasoning gave this dish so much flavor. I would never have imagined chicken fajitas would work so well with pasta but it really does. Inwas also doubting whether or not to top this dish with the cheese, however it worked really well. Will definitely be trying this again

Leave a comment