Pizza Topped Chicken

IMG_20170810_010725_208

Until I started following slimming world there were many food combinations, swaps and alternatives that I would have never thought to have tried and the pizza topped chicken is one of them. Instead of the traditional dough base you would use when making a pizza you instead swap it out for a butterfly cut chicken breast as the base, You then just add your tomato sauce and top with cheese and pop it in the oven


Pizza Topped Chicken

Syns: Syn free when using the Cheese from you Healthy Extra A allowance

Ingredients:

  • Butterflied chicken breasts
  • Pasatta
  • Tomato Puree
  • Italian herbs
  • cheddar cheese
  • Fry Lite

What did I do and how?

  • Taking your raw chicken breasts you need to butterfly them, anyone who is unsure what butterflying is it is a technique that is used to make a thick piece of meat thinner. Placing the chicken breast onto a chopping board you place your hand flat onto the top of the chicken and slice the chicken breast horizontally in half away from you, cutting into it just over 3/4, you then unfold it into a butterfly.
  • In a frying pan spray some fry light and then place the butterflied chicken cooking both sides
  • Once cooked place the chicken into a baking dish.
  • In a small bowl add some pasatta, tomato puree and a pinch of Itallian herbs and mix together.
  • Smother the tomato sauce over the top of the chicken
  • Sprinkle some grated cheddar on top.
  • Pop into the oven on 180 for 30 minutes and serve

Afterthoughts:

I served these with some herb potatoes and vegetables and it made for a really enjoyable and tasty meal that even my husband enjoyed. I would never of thought to use a chicken breast for the base and am really surprised at how simple and how tasty it was. I used the cheese on my one as my Hex A allowance for the day so it made this syn free otherwise you would need to syn the Cheddar.

 

15th January Breaded Chicken Something that is eaten a lot in our house and especially by our three boys is chicken and especially if its shaped and covered in batter or breadcrumb. I am unsure what power the chicken nugget has over our boys but they just cant get enough of them so I thought that I was about time that I have a go at making my own chicken strips, a healthier alternative to the crap they basically eat.

Leave a comment