Breaded Chicken

IMG_20170810_012526_954

Breaded Chicken is something that is eaten a lot in our house, especially by our three boys and especially if its shaped and covered in batter or breadcrumb. I am unsure what power the chicken nugget has over our boys but they just cant get enough of them so I thought that I was about time that I have a go at making my own chicken strips, a healthier alternative to the crap they basically eat.


Breaded chicken strips

Syns: Syn free if you use the bread from your Healthy Extra B allowance

Ingredients:

  • 3 chicken breasts cut into strips
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 3 slices Kingsmill wholemeal crustless bread 
  • A pinch of mixed herbs

So what did I do and how?

  • Take the chicken breasts and cut them up into strips
  • Take the three slices of bread and tear them up and pop them into a food processor  along with a pinch of mixed herbs and give it a blitz until the bread looks like a fine bread crumb.
  • Empty the bread crumbs onto a large dinner plate
  • In a bowl beat up one egg
  • Dip each chicken strip into the beaten egg, place it onto the plate and cover in bread crumb and place onto a baking tray
  • Pop into the oven and cook on 180 for approximately 25minutes
  • Serve

Afterthoughts:

I was really unsure how these would turn out let alone how they would go down with out three boys, I mean these boys hate anything that would be considered healthy. The  results were a rather tasty chicken strip with a lovely crisp coating and even better our three boys approved. A Mummy win!

Leave a comment